Shores Unknown

Vallynne / Hitcents (publisher)

W21 / 013 / Xsolla Award / Winner
W21 / Best Audio / Shortlist

Concept

Shores Unknown is a turn-based tactical RPG rendered in a rich, low-poly aesthetic with an emphasis on player choices and narrative. The game's original battles let the players focus wholly on the strategy: the characters will automatically maneuver around the battlefield.

Summary

Shores Unknown is a single-player tactical RPG featuring an innovative gridless battle system combined with epic fights against huge bosses and enemy armies.

THE SHORES BECKON

Shores Unknown takes place in a land ruled by the iron-fisted Crown, and policed by the fearsome Inquisition, from whom it is said there is no escape. To the south lies the Empire and perpetual war, while to the north there is only the Murk — a seething wall of fog from which no ship has ever returned. In the midst of these grand forces, both natural and otherwise, our heroes must find a way to survive and to pursue their dreams of liberty.
Play as the newly-made leader of a mercenary company, fresh off an assignment gone awry. Now on the wrong side of the Crown, allies and loyalty are paramount. Forced to venture through the maw of the Murk in a search for truth, players will explore unknown lands, forge new alliances, and wage battle against those who would see to their end. What dangers await on Shores Unknown?


GAME FEATURES

・Gridless tactical turn-based combat: take your time to assess the situation and command your characters in the Order Phase, then watch your strategy come to life during the Action Phase as the characters maneuver around the battlefield and carry out their orders.
・Adaptive character advancement system: characters learn new skills and unlock new classes depending on their equipment and combat choices.
・Deep party customization options allow the player to build the perfect mercenary team of their choice, allowing full control over equipment and skills used by each character.
・Vibrant world rendered in low-poly stylistic full of little details to immerse yourself in. Explore the various locations of the game, interact with dozens of characters and uncover the secrets of the Shores.

About the team

Our team currently consists of 5 core members: team lead/programmer, game designer, level designer, scenario designer and a composer. We've also, at different times throughout the development, used the services of more than 15 outsourcers.

The initial core was assembled in 2017, when Ilya Rudnev (lead & game programmer), who was already living and working in Kyoto, Japan at that point, and his two friends - a level designer and a writer from Moscow - decided to create their own indie RPG with a battle system inspired by The Last Remnant and SaGa series.

Since then, the game has evolved into a commercial project, found a publisher in Hitcents, and in February 2021 has finally been released on Steam and GOG as an Early Access title, receiving a warm response from the player base (currently 42 Steam reviews with 88% positive).

Shores Unknown won a prestigious "Best UE4 Game" award at Indie Cup Summer 2019. It was also showcased at different b2b and b2c game events around the globe, including Dreamhack Atlanta 2019, BitSummit 2020/2021, and Tokyo Game Show 2020.

Shores Unknown

Vallynne / Hitcents (publisher)

W21 / 013 / Xsolla Award / Winner
W21 / Best Audio / Shortlist

Идея

Shores Unknown — это пошаговая тактическая RPG в красочной low-poly стилистике, сосредоточенная на истории и решениях игрока. Оригинальная боевая система игры с непрямым контролем над перемещениями персонажей позволяет полностью сфокусироваться на стратегии боя.

Описание

Shores Unknown — одиночная тактическая RPG с уникальной пошаговой боевой системой без грида. Вас ждут сражения как против человеческих армий, так и столкновения с существами магической природы.

ТАИНСТВЕННЫЕ ЗЕМЛИ ЗОВУТ В ПУТЕШЕСТВИЕ

История рассказывает о молодом наёмнике Мортене и его сестре Рен, которые неожиданно для себя оказались между двух огней. С одной стороны королевство обвиняет их в измене родине, с другой — вторженцы жаждут уничтожить их родной дом. Чтобы выжить, вам предстоит отправиться в опасное путешествие. Далеко на северном море лежит таинственная “хмарь” — туман, пожирающий все корабли, что осмеливаются его пересечь. Никто не возвращался оттуда живым. До недавнего времени…

Единственный способ получить ответы на свои вопросы, защитить свою честь и своих товарищей, это разгадать загадку хмари и опасных вторженцев, что прибыли с другой её стороны. Но легко ли сделать это, будучи преступником, преследуемым устрашающей инквизицией — главной ипостасью закона в Королевстве?

ОСОБЕННОСТИ ИГРЫ

  • Уникальная тактическая боевая система: обдумайте свою стратегию в фазе планирования, а затем приведите ее в действие против полчищ кровожадных врагов и смертоносных боссов в фазе боя.
  • Адаптивная система прокачки: персонажи обучаются новым умениям и открывают новые классы в зависимости от их снаряжения и поведения в бою.
  • Глубокая кастомизация: ваша команда – в ваших руках. Вы вольны выбирать, какое снаряжение будут использовать ваши бойцы и какие умения они смогут использовать в битве.
  • Красочный мир, выполненный в low-poly стилистике с тщательным вниманием к деталям. Отправляйтесь в путешествие по разнообразным игровым локациям, встречайте неожиданных попутчиков и врагов, выполняйте побочные задания, с каждым новым шагом приближаясь к разгадке тайны неизведанных берегов.

О команде

На данный момент костяк команды состоит из пяти человек: тим-лид/программист, ГД, дизайнер уровней, сценарист, композитор. Помимо этого в проекте на разных этапах участвуют или участвовали 15+ аутсорсеров.

Изначальный состав был собран в 2017 году, когда Илья Руднев, уже живший и работавший тогда в Киото (Япония) в компании Q-Games, собрал своих друзей - левел-дизайнера и писателя из Москвы, а сам взял на себя роли гейм-дизайнера и программиста, и вместе они решили попробовать создать свою инди-РПГ с оригинальной боевой системой, вдохновленной The Last Remnant и серией игр SaGa.

С тех пор проект разросся до полноценного коммерческого тайтла, обзавелся издателем, а в феврале 2021 наконец-то вышел в Ранний Доступ, получив теплый отклик от игроков (на данный момент- 42 обзора в Steam с 88% положительных).

С более подробной историей создания проекта, как и с другими интересными фактами о нем, можно ознакомиться в интервью на UE4Daily: https://ue4daily.com/blog/shores-unknown

В числе прочего, игра победила в номинации "Best UE4 Game" в рамках Indie Cup Summer 2019, а также принимала участие в крупных b2b и b2c ивентах в различных странах, включая Dreamhack Atlanta 2019, BitSummit 2020/2021 и Tokyo Game Show 2020.